jump to navigation

Politik Interpersonal II June 5, 2007

Posted by psimitar in abilene, drama.
trackback

Ok, I’m back with another one.

Everything came to a head after my friends got back from the Halo competition [they got slaughtered, btw]. I accepted a late-night sit-down invitation with the intention of airing my grievances after a few hours of thought and introspection. Instead it quickly escalated into a disproportionate display of anger not on my part, but definitely had to do with me and the situation everyone is a part of. Again, there are elements in play about my life for the last 1.5 years that have made me who I am today and my room mates and I have not been in constant contact during this period. So of course there are going to be conflicts between us in this sudden and dramatic lifestyle change.

Suffice it to say that nothing was resolved last night and I spent some time afterwards considering a major rethink to current plans. I absolutely made the decision to look at everything in a professional, business-like manner; only with that detachment could I approach things objectively, a feat I was becoming increasingly unfamiliar with since the move.

A second talk about twenty hours later after my first day at work [which really wasn’t all that bad thanks to a lot of diversionary but informative training DVDs] went much better. The talk, consisting about an hour, re-established some connections I thought had been severed for good and a resolve was made to make it a point to not let issues escalate to the point of the previous night.

Still, it’s a slippery slope I’m scaling. I know I’ve got a tenuous sense of emotional intelligence right now and am prone to doing and saying things impulsively and defensively, which was a primary concern expressed in the last talk. Now I know that certain bits of information kept on their part and vice versa was the major source of tension between us and now that we’re a little more honest with each other, I can use that information to adjust my behavior and ultimately understand just what the hell is going on around here.

No more unpleasant surprises, please!

