jump to navigation

Where’s My ‘Breakfast Club?’ June 14, 2007

Posted by psimitar in Uncategorized.
trackback

I went to a huge book sale this weekend and discovered a really awesome cache of cassette-tapes…yes, cassette tapes; you know that pre-mp3 magnetic media?

I picked up a bunch, but almost geeked on myself [ew] when I came across an original The Breakfast Club soundtrack.

I’m 25, so that would make me about 3-4 years old when this John Hughes classic came out. I missed any and all opportunities to see the film all the way through until I was about 22-23…and when I did, I loved it and have felt like I missed some great secret era of movie-making ever since.

I guess this just plugs into my general feelings of nostalgia lately, but I really wish I could live a few days of my life as a teenager in the 80’s. I’m sure all the same old rules still apply and that in the grand scheme of things, growing up is growing up no matter where or when you go, but I can’t shake this feeling that teased hair, economic optimism and glam rock [Poison, anyone?] wouldn’t be just a little fun right now.

I know, I know. The 80’s probably weren’t all they’re cracked up to be. I mean, look at them.

mmm, he'll do.Anyone with an opening-night movie stub to The Breakfast Club tucked away in their High School yearbook want to set me straight and give me a reason why I shouldn’t hop in my De Lorean and take a trip back to the future [which also ran the same year as The Breakfast Club might I add?]

Also, what’s “The Breakfast Club” for my generation? Clueless [released a simple decade after TBC] was pretty good, but lacks the shelf-life I require. I’ve been told Half-Baked captures some of that mid-nineties zeitgeist, but I’ve never seen it. Cruel Intentions captured my imagination while Ryan Phillipe captured the intentions of something south of my imagination, but is it too cynical for its own good?

Lemme know what you think or I simply won’t be able to go on.

I’ll wait here looking into the camera until you comment…

Comments»

1. Fausto Fernos - June 14, 2007

I lived in the 80s and I was a Breakfast Clubber. All I can think of was how unhappy and trapped we all felt in that time period, and how we looked towards these sexually ambiguous music groups from Europe (Culture Club, Wham, Big Country, INXS, Duran Duran) as a way of making our superficial materialistic lives have meaning.

The fact that everyone can express themselves to such a large audience today on the internet is an invaluable part of my life and I would never trade it for anything. I envy teenagers today who have the world at their fingertips (like we all do) in being able to not only voice their thoughts but to try out new ideas quickly and effortlessly online.

Now back to dancing like Molly Ringwald in TBC.

2. psimitar - June 17, 2007

I guess I wasn’t thinking about it that way, but you’re completely correct! The internet has given us great opportunities for self expression that simply didn’t exist twenty years ago unless you had a television/radio station and a movie studio at your whim. Now with YouTube, podcasting and blogging everyone’s at least got a shot in theory. There is still the problem of the digital divide between low-income families and the middle to upper-class ‘elite,’ not to mention third-world and developing countries left behind by technological progress.

3. “Pole” Monday! « Reality’s Receding Edge - June 18, 2007

[…] 18, 2007 Posted by psimitar in Pole Monday, He’ll Do. trackback Ryan Phillipe [mentioned in my Breakfast Club post] was spotted this weekend wearing [gasp,] a tank top?! No seriously, check out the guns on this […]


Leave a Reply

